Bulldog Breeds Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ever since the arrival of our new pup - our 9 month old girl has become very aggresive towards anyone or anything outside of the immediate family
I guess she is being extremely marternal and protective - but wow she is starting to worry me
She went into a frenzy when my sister visited the other day - I really thought she was going to attack her
And she was very slow / hesitant to back off despite my commands to do so

How do I train her to back off?

Any help appreciated

Jack :)

·
Agent Squint
3,627 Posts
Was she adopted? Was she abused before you got her or something? It seems like confidence and temperament problems. I would look for a professional bully breed trainer and/or someone to test her temperament and see what they think. It's not something we can really answer on here.

~S

·
Banned
3,413 Posts
I'm no expert by any means, but could it possibly be jealousy? When you bought your new bully did you know that they are prone to dog aggression more than any other breeds? I really, terribly, hate to say this but you may have to give up one bulyl if things don't brighten up. Possibly calling a professional dog trainer to do some in home dog training with you and your dogs is a good idea, even though it can be pricey.

·
Registered
10,116 Posts
Oooh that's a sticky situation. I wish I had the right advice, but I honestly don't know. I'm sorry though... I hope everything works out somehow. People aggression is very different from dog aggression, and I've never been exposed to it. I'm not sure how I would handle that. Can you afford to have a behaviorist visit your home and evaluate your dog?

·
Registered
790 Posts