Bulldog Breeds Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to English bulldogs. I did my reszearch and then decided to find a reputable breeder. I found one I was pleased with and who'
s references spoke highly of. I paid $3000 for an 8 week old male bulldog (supposedly show quality). I took the puppy in for his 1st vet checkup and the vet loved the dog but informed us that it could never be shown because of its toes. The 1st and 5th toes are splayed out and the nails do not make contact with the ground. They will have to be cut to keep short and stubby according to the breed standards. Was I taken advantage of for the money I paid or was the vet wrong in what he was saying? Please help me? I love the dog but definitely did not want to pay $3000 for a companion. I wanted to show him. :?:

·
Registered
115 Posts
Hey Pmarco , I would post this in another section or have a moderator move it since this is the Dog Memorial's section not sure how many people might view it . Either the Breeder's or General section would probably be good .

·
Registered
1,813 Posts
Nobody answered you on this, not sure why.
I don't know much about the EB breed standard so I headed over to the AKC site and found this:

Feet--The feet should be moderate in size, compact and firmly set. Toes compact, well split up, with high knuckles and short stubby nails. The hind feet should be pointed well outward.
It sounds like they are supposed to be split apart, if not I would definately try to bring that breeder to court
for "selling property that wasn't the quality you were promised" and try to get some sort of partial refund.
Hopefully you have something stating that the dog was sold under the title of show quality. There is a difference
between show quality and show potential. Show quality means that it perfectly fits the standard, generally the puppy