Bulldog Breeds Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have you ever wondered why some dogs are a “natural” when it comes to producing other dogs with their own good qualities? While there are some others that can’t reproduce their good qualities no matter with how many different females they’re bred to? This is where genetics comes into place. And although I’m not geneticist (someone with a professional degree in genetics), I am a science teacher and have had to learn enough about it to get my teacher’s license and teach it. Genetics, as in electricity, can sometimes be illogical to those who never deal with it. I’ll try to give some insight on this matter as simple as I can for most to be able to grasp it.

When it comes to the Working Dog, genetics is a bit more complicated to decipher than it is for the conformation breeders. It’s “easier” to establish the physical traits of a breed than it to establish the behavioral characteristics shaped by their genes. Ex: If you have a solid black dog and breed it to a red female and whole litter turns out to be black, you can assume that dominant trait that defines the color of the pups is in the male. Likewise us working dog people want dogs with certain natural qualities (prey drives, civilness, hardness, etc.)