Bulldog Breeds Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,966 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I cannot get mo to run on the mill. He loves to run, but wont on the mill. He just stands there. He is definately scared of it which sucks. How do I get him over his fear without creating more fear of the mill.

I try to bait him with kibble, which works to get him on the mill, and praise him lots when he does run, but for the most part he still just stands there.

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
cannon said:
I cannot get mo to run on the mill. He loves to run, but wont on the mill. He just stands there. He is definately scared of it which sucks. How do I get him over his fear without creating more fear of the mill.

I try to bait him with kibble, which works to get him on the mill, and praise him lots when he does run, but for the most part he still just stands there.
I'm still new to the whole mill thing, and I know attitude uses them a lot so she(?)'s definitely a better source of good info than I am, but here's what I've found works for me so far....

Maddi freaked out at first on our mill. I think it's just a process. Now I can get her to at least stand on it and take a few steps, but once she tells me she's done, I don't push her any further. I think she'll eventually come around, but it will take a while.

Chance - well, when he gets on and just stands there, I put his food dish (with a bit of kibble in it) about 5 feet away on the floor in front of him and just walk away. Before I know it he's running his little butt off and he gets praised and gets a little handful of food. What really gets him going is if I warm up a little bit of leftover chicken or whatever from the night before, let him smell it and then set it down out of his reach in front of the mill.

edit: Uhh...although walking away from Mo if he's scared might be a really bad thing, heh. I don't think I'd try that.