Bulldog Breeds Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,723 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was thinking about this last night in bed :lol: I know, my brain never stops, LMAO!!!

Does anyone here think that a dog with Dog Aggression could have something to do with its nerves?? I am not talking Dominance, but a dog that actually goes out looking for fights. I am also not talking Game pits, cause that is what they are bred to do.

I think that it does have something to do with their nerves and their confidence level. I could be totally wrong and off on this, but that is what I observed with Dozer. He was kinda weird, he would be Dog aggressive at times. Like if we were at OB training, and another dog came to close, he would get this worried look on his face then he would try to go after the other dog. But if he didn't feel threatened he would not show dog aggression at all.

Opinions anyone?

·
Registered
11,423 Posts
Of course I'm no expert...but I don't see why not. Animals have the fight or flight instinct. They feel threatened, they lash out. A weak nerved dog feels threatened in circumstances where a stable dog would not and they act accordingly. Just my opinion.

·
Registered
2,723 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Kasco said:
Of course I'm no expert...but I don't see why not. Animals have the fight or flight instinct. They feel threatened, they lash out. A weak nerved dog feels threatened in circumstances where a stable dog would not and they act accordingly. Just my opinion.
Good way to put it, but yeah that is what I was trying to say, lol!! Makes sense,eh? I know alot of people don't agree with that though.

·
Registered
4,666 Posts
I don't know but CC is like that but when she sees another dog she doesn't growl, she wines like when she wants to play, but if you getclose to the other dog, she get down right nasty. but she didn't start that till she got bit in the face.

·
Registered
790 Posts
Dogs' aggression stem from many reasons.