Bulldog Breeds Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fina has been shedding EXCESSIVELY (imo) for about the last month. At first I though it was just a normal shedding cycle, but now I'm not sure as it's not getting any better.

Things that have changed in her environment/diet:

She was getting fat, so I put her on a diet and she lost the weight.

Her food changed from Artemis to Authority Harvest Baked, 2 months ago.

She has no bald spots, but her hair does seem to be lessing in areas......I'll add pics in a bit

Anyone use any type of supplements or shampoo's that help with shedding? Those of you that feed Authority Harvest BAked, do your dogs shed more than they did on other foods?

Thanks everyone,
Bridget :?:

·
Super Moderator
16,010 Posts
Hey Bridget - I am not an expert on Mange (but the pics do not look like it), what I do know is the effects of oil or the lack of it on hair. More than likely the new food has less oil if she is able to lose weight on it. This is what would cause the excessive shedding. Give her some oil supplements to off set this - even that can of tuna (spaced out of course). People are great at eliminating the oils from their system when they go on a diet and the next thing you know their hair is laying on the bathroom floor. All systems have to have some oil. In the mean time brush her daily with a boar bristle brush to distribute the oils in her coat and to stimulate more oil into her coat. Good luck :D

add on: Just saw this post and it is on the skin:

http://bulldogbreeds.com/discuss/viewtopic.php?t=2188

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Will do, and as always Pat, thanks for the great advice!

I'm pretty sure that I'm over-reacting on the mange thing, just being a worry wart I hope!

Bridget

·
Registered
297 Posts