Bulldog Breeds Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi this is my first time, i'm Hils, i need some advice please. Heidi is 7mths old my first staffie, what an excellent breed i'm over the moon with her. Two days ago I took on a friends 9 week old male staffie (Diezel) story is to long to explain, as recomended i bought him his own bed and toys, Heidi takes all his and her toys, he's a feisty little man and tugs them back. what concerns me is the growling, mainly from him, and the nipping from both. Heidi is obviously jelouse and i wonder if i should eliminate the toys? also should i let them continue to growl and nip or stop it, i'm worried that they might become aggresive towards each other to the point of doing an injury. Strangely, Heidi is quite happy for Diezel to sleep in her cage, whilst she lays down anywhere she pleases. I would be grateful for some sound advice as to what i should be doing in the best interest of the dogs.

·
Agent Squint
4,225 Posts
Eliminate, don't think dogs know how to share. I gradually took all the toys away, now they fight over twigs. My two are very vocal, but there is no signs of agression. I have to break them up when they get too loud, never let the play fighting get too far, step in when it gets to much so they no you are the boss.

Here's my two, mouthing and very vocal/whiney with it :lol:

·
Registered
426 Posts
Hi and welcome to the board. I'm a newbie myself. I have read other posts about this same problem and the suggestions pretty much have all been a thing called "crate and rotate". This is where you put one dog up while you play with the other one for a couple of hours adn then rotate them. It's not fun having the dogs fighting and it does seem that your first dog is very jealous. I hope this helps.

·
Agent Squint
4,225 Posts
gatorgrldej8 said: