Bulldog Breeds Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
715 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 9 month old Pit Bull Bishop is a good dog. My mom doesn't like him though. Why? Bishop has a gas problem. So far, we've had him on two foods:

Iams Large Breed Puppy and Purina Large Breed Puppy Chow. The latter was definitely definitely worse. It gave him gas that would fill a room or two and left him with the trots. Iams, though not as bad as Purina, still leaves him with a bit of gas that's still pretty stinky (but luckily with less regularity), but otherwise his poops are relatively normal (seems to fit along the spectrum of what I'd consider normal dog scats, though I'm by no means an expert).

Other than the vile-smelling side-effects, his food seems to be working well... he's gained some weight, his muscles look good, his goat is healthy, and good lord does he have energy.

What are your thoughts?

·
Registered
2,209 Posts
Both are very low quality foods!!! PLEASE do some research on good dog nutrition. Foods like that are likely to cause gas, soft stools, shedding, dull coat and SO many other things!!

·
Registered
715 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
We've never had problems with IAMS before, I just don't want to break my bank account, and was just wonderring if there was anything especially good for growing puppies with sensitive stomachs.

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
you can also give your dog about a table spoon or two of Plain yogert with his food
its susposed to help with gas so ive read
just make sure it has active cultures in it

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
Bogey can clear a room in two seconds flat. He eats a very high quality food (Solid Gold Wolfking). I think the problem with him though is that he eats too fast. I mean he gobbles his food like he's starving or something. Does your dog tend to eat fast too?

·
Registered
182 Posts
Bogart said: