Bulldog Breeds Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I’m a newbie on this board and I’m excited to introduce myself. I’ve learned a great deal about the bull breed in the past two days and trilled to learn that the breed is a great family pet if in a good household. You all have great stories about your pet and this got me real interested in a short period of time. I will be honest, I was not even slightly interested in a Pit Bull last week, but after reading and my experience today, I learned this breed is a great pet in the right upbringing.

We lost our Dalmatian of 13 years last fall and needed some time. Last week my wife was on the web looking at dogs from a shelter. We know this shelter well as we donated all of our dog stuff to them when Buster died.

We went to see Pumpkin (2 yr/45 lbs) today. I was sitting in the waiting room with my family and Pumpkin ran over to me and rolled on her belly for a belly rub. She let me do this for a couple of minutes while we talked to the shelter staff. As soon as I stopped, she came right to my face and gave me kisses. She ran around sniffing my children and wife and dropped to the floor often for a belly rub.

We tested aggression by giving her some dog treats and put our hand near the floor where she was eating them. No growl, no nudge as to say “get out of my space” and this was comforting. We pulled on her tail and no growl and snapping at us. We put our hands on her head and put our faces right up to hers and all we got were kisses. I was in total awe as my Dalmatian had issues with some of these things I just described.

We took her for a walk and she needs some leash training. She also needs to work on jumping. She tends to jump up but nothing that can’t be corrected with a little discipline.