Bulldog Breeds Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a 10 year old cat named kitkat, and a 1 year old staffordshire terrier named trouble. i rescued trouble almost 9 months ago when he got hit by a car and i witnessed it... (he is totally healed and rambuncious....)... he chases after my cat all the time. he doesn't grab hold of him, but rather stomps on him and tries to lick his ears.... my husband and i know he doesn't mean any harm, but my cat doesn't.

my question -- is there any way of socializing them without having my cat feel endangered -- or is separation when hubby and i are not home the only answer?

·
Registered
512 Posts
Um - I'm rather new to all of this but I too have a cat (pre pit) and while Sam has not shown any aggression she is too rough PLUS I worry that if Pedro (the cat) ever reacts in a defensive manner that prey drive will kick in and there won't be any pedro left. So with that being said - and since given the proper provocation I belive Sam would eat my almost 12 yo Pom Jack) She is either always crated when I leave OR Jack and the cat go into the bathroom until I return. Just what I do...

·
Registered
136 Posts
I don't have a cat, but would also be concerned about prey drive kicking in. I would have a safe area in your home for your cat to be by itself especially when you're not there.

·
Super Moderator
15,976 Posts
Clara, my apbt, is fascinated with our cat. She thinks of it as
a live fuzzy wuzzy cute thing. She wants to play with it, lick it,
chase it, etc. I do not see any aggression in her play but her
power and strength could hurt the cat. The cat knows this and
keeps her movements slow when she walks past any of the dogs.
She knows that I am her protector, so she comes to me when
Clara makes her nervous. I have to remind Clara that she is not
a toy and to be easy with her.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·