Bulldog Breeds Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When we went found Jazzy and her litter mates at the shelter they had them listed as pitbulls. We seen Jazzy's mom and she is a beautiful brindle staffordshire terrier. They told us the only info on the dad is what the previous owner had told them and they said we was a red nose pit. So my question is ( remember i'm new to the breed) is Jazzy a staffordshire/pit mix? Or would she just be concidered a pitbull as the shelter had her labeled?

·
Registered
10,116 Posts
"Pit bull" is a general term, though still correct... if you're sure about the breeds of the parents, and you wanted to be more specific, you would say she's a Staffordshire Bull Terrier/American Pit Bull Terrier cross.

·
Registered
10,116 Posts
Sorry, I misread... I thought you said the mom was a Staffy Bull. If the mom was an American Staffordshire Terrier, and the dad was an American Pit Bull Terrier, they're pretty much the same breed, despite some size differences.

I don't know... I'll let someone else answer this. :D

·
Agent Squint
4,225 Posts
American staffy are pitbull with a classeir name, whereas staffordshire bull terrier is the english version. I'm sure thats right.

·
Registered
1,493 Posts
Without acquiring a dog from an honest, knowledgable, & reputable breeder who keeps accurate results of his dogs' pedigrees/lineage, then there is no way to know if the dog you have (especially since it came from the shelter...but kudos to you for adopting) a pure-bred animal much less one of a particular breed.

The term "pit bull" is a generic term that encompasses several different breeds & any dog that structurally resembles them. American Pit Bull Terriers, American Staffordshire Terriers, Staffordshire Bull Terriers, Bull Terriers, & American Bulldogs are all considered to be "pit bulls".