Bulldog Breeds Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone please give me some pointers or suggestions please. This is my first time trying to train a dog from a pup. Everytime I put her in the crate she howls, barks and whines forever and gnaws at the bars on the cage. Is this normal? This goes on for like an hour than she will sleep for an hour and do it all over again. It seems so inhumane to do this. I feel sorry for her but dont think I am suppose to take her out and coddle her when she does this. Even if I take her out she whines to be in my lap 24/7. I am assuming its because she is so young. I am just a firm believer that animals dont belong on furniture. Am I going about this the wrong way. PaLeeeeeze Help me. Thank you. :D

·
Registered
3,112 Posts
Is she in the same room as you when she is in the crate? If so try putting her in a different room. But you are doing the right thing by not cattering to her when she does this because they are smart and will catch on. I would try putting a blanket over the top and sides of her crate to see if this helps. We have been lucky that Faith does good in her crate. But she was already 6 months old when we got her.

·
Registered
914 Posts
oh god. I had this problem with gordy for what seems like forever. He is finaly getting to love his crate. You are doing the right thing. Just act like you dont here it. It will work. I hated leaving Gordy in there like that. Plus I know the barking gets anoying. Evertime he goes in his crate just give him a treat and say good boy. Leave and dont let him out.the biggest problem i had with gordy is if i walked buy his crate and he seen me and new i was arround that was the worst he would bark cry. Even try to headbutt his way out. Now When i go to let him out He dont even want to sometimes. lol Just stay calm and dont let him out when he wines. It will get better.

·
Registered
146 Posts