Bulldog Breeds Forums banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Very much looking forward to getting my new puppy.. Been researching and reading alot about American Bulldogs and cant wait to have one of my own.
I am new to the breed and would appreciate any info out there...
Here is the breeder close to me that i may go with.. expeirenced folks in this area and breed please look over their site and offer any suggestions/comments. Also of course if you notice something negative please inform. I want a great pure bred ABD, and cant wait to get him.

Thanks!!

http://www.americanbulldogstexas.com/index.php

·
Registered
8,671 Posts
First of all the health gurantee is no good from what I can tell. Perhaps I am interpreting things wrong but by the sounds of it they are only guaranteeing that the puppy is healthy at the time of sale? What is up with that? A good breeder will guarantee the health of their dogs for AT LEAST 2 yrs.

Health Guarantee

Puppies are guaranteed to be healthy at the time of sale, and they will have been given their first shots and wormer. After you purchase your pup, we recommend you take it to your vet, within the first three days, and have them verify the puppy is healthy. If your vet determines the puppy is not of good health, bring the pup back to us for a full refund, or you may have that puppy replaced from the current litter or a later breeding. All breeding stock has been x-rayed and determined to be free from hip dysplasia. Your puppy will be sent home with a Puppy Packet. The packet will include: shot records, tips sheet, sire and dam photos, contract, and ABA &/or NKC papers.

Secondly they claim that all of their breeding stock has been xrayed and determined to be free from hip dysplasia. If this is the case why are there no OFA or Penn hip scores listed on the site? Sounds fishy to me.

Thirdly, I see no evidence that any of their dogs have been tested for NCL. This is very important!!!