Bulldog Breeds Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! Newbie here :) Just had a question ok maybe 2.

Quick story- I adopted the little booger from a shelter about 3 months ago. Up until recently, he's been quiet. Here are my questions:

One- My dog will be quiet playing with his toys or resting, then all of a sudden will start barking at me or my boyfriend (mostly me, mostly). Or if we're on the phone, he'll start howling, then barking up a storm. I tell him STOP BARKING!, but he keeps it up. Is he just doing this for the attention? I'm always playing with him when I'm home. If i'm playing on my computer, he'll be barking. So I give him his toys, he keeps at it. THen I'll walk away, and he shuts up. then he'll start again. What's good to use on him to stop him from constantly barking?

2nd- He loves to nip/bite when playing, but he'll do this to anyone. We tell him to stop and bop him on the nose, but again he keeps at it. He's about 1-2 years old, he should be outgrown of this nipping stage.

Help!
thanks!

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
I've been very lucky to not have a barking problem with Bogart so I don't have any advice for that. As far as the biting-have you tried "yelping" when he does it? If he nips at you then make a loud yelp sound and pull your hand away. Ignore him for a little while.

By the way, cute dog.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks, i'll give that a shot. when my boyfriend plays with him, thats when he bites, and tugs on his hand, like he's trying to take it! *L*

how old is bogart? hes a cutie!

ok bedtime i'm shot!

·
Registered
6,660 Posts
Cute dog welcome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
735 Posts
welcome! :) Your baby is simply adorable! :D thanks so much for adopting!

·
Registered
1,635 Posts
harleysmom said:
how old is bogart? hes a cutie!
Thanks! He's about 2 1/2 years old.

·
Registered
2,975 Posts